MetaTrader 4 support by licensed broker
17 of the 35 UAE-licensed brokers publish MetaTrader 4. The ranked table immediately below covers only the 9 brokers captured in depth on 18 August 2026, scored on columns like account status and symbol counts. None of those 9 publishes a symbol count for its MT4 server. The full list of all 17 MT4 publishers follows further down the page.
The table is ranked by MT4 Fit, which combines this page’s own captured columns (70 points) with the broker’s Overall CFB Score from its review (30 points). The combined ranking gives you a quick way to spot brokers that are solid across the board, not just on MT4 support. 2 brokers have no published CFB Score, so no MT4 Fit is calculated and they sit at the bottom of the table with every figure we did capture. The weights are set out on our methodology page.
| # | Broker | MT4 Fit | Overall | Regulator | MT4 | Account status (MT4 account status) | EAs (Expert advisors) | Visit broker | More details |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | #1 Highest MT4 Fit | 92 | 72 | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Opening new accounts | Permitted | Visit IG | |
| |||||||||
| 2 | 92 | 79 | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Opening new accounts | Permitted | Visit ADSS | ||
| |||||||||
| 3 | 89 | 64 | FSRA (ADGM) | Yes | Opening new accounts | Permitted | Visit AvaTrade | ||
| |||||||||
| 4 | 89 | 72 | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Opening new accounts | Contradicted | Visit XTB | ||
| |||||||||
| 5 | 88 | 87 | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Opening new accounts | Permitted | Visit Equiti | ||
| |||||||||
| 6 | 25 | 84 | CMA (formerly SCA) | No | Not stated | Not applicable | Visit CFI | ||
| |||||||||
| 7 | 24 | 81 | CMA (formerly SCA) | No | Not stated | Not applicable | Visit Century Financial | ||
| |||||||||
| 8 | 23 | 75 | DFSA (DIFC) | No | Not published by the licensed entity | Not applicable | Visit Amana | ||
| |||||||||
| 9 | 18 | 61 | FSRA (ADGM) | No | Not applicable | Not applicable | Visit eToro | ||
| |||||||||
We checked each broker’s UAE-facing site on 18 August 2026 to capture the account status above.
Risk warning: CFDs are leveraged products. Leverage works against you as well as for you, and you may lose some or all of your deposit. Read the broker's own client agreement and check its licence on the CMA (formerly SCA), DFSA or FSRA public register before opening an account.
1. IG: IG indicators and add-ons in the build
IG opens new MT4 accounts and permits expert advisors and custom indicators, with IG indicators and add-ons in the build. MT4 clients cover desktop, web and mobile, and the MT4 symbol count is not published. I would use this for automated strategies. The licensed entity is IG Limited, regulated by DFSA (DIFC) F001780.
Average spread
0.6 points minimum
1.13 points typical, Standard CFD account
Trading platforms
MT4, MT5, TradingView, own platform
Minimum deposit
USD 300
Regulation
DFSA (DIFC)
F001780
Why higher here? Perfect MT4 platform scores push IG to first on this page, while its broader cost and trust results land it fifth across all 35 brokers. See the ranking method ↓
Pros & Cons
- Holds a DFSA dealing licence under register reference F001780.
- Publishes retail asset-class leverage maximums that match the DFSA rulebook figures.
- IG publishes no per-lot commission on the CFD account; the cost is built into the spread.
- IG publishes no swap-free or Islamic account for UAE clients, and its published rule is that you will be charged a daily interest fee for holding positions overnight.
- AED does not appear on the captured UAE page; account currencies and conversion fees are not published.
- IG names no copy trading or social trading product for UAE clients.
Broker's Detail
IG trades in the UAE through IG Limited on DFSA (DIFC) reference F001780: a dealing permission, so the UAE-licensed entity can be your counterparty, with client assets endorsed.
Licence covers: Dealing in Investments as Principal (Certificates, Debentures, Futures, Options, Shares, Structured Products, Warrants, Units, Crypto Tokens); Providing Custody (Certificates, Debentures, Shares, Units)
2. ADSS: Still opening new MT4 accounts
ADSS opens new MT4 accounts and permits expert advisors and custom indicators, with desktop and mobile clients. The MT4 symbol count is not published and no broker tools are named. The Abu Dhabi broker discloses no offshore alternative. The licensed entity is ADS SECURITIES - L.L.C - S.P.C, regulated by CMA (formerly SCA) CP-0000786 (SCA-era 305027 (Cat 1); 20200000217 (Cat 5)).
Average spread
0.7 pips EUR/USD, from
quoted for a tier ADSS does not define
Trading platforms
MT4, MT5, own platform
Minimum deposit
USD 100 (Classic)
Regulation
CMA (formerly SCA)
CP-0000786
Why higher here? Solid MT4 capabilities earn ADSS fourth on this page, while weaker cost and trust scores drop it to 22nd in our overall assessment. See the ranking method ↓
Pros & Cons
- Offers three platforms: MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, and the proprietary ADSS Trading Platform.
- Holds an onshore UAE dealing licence from the CMA under reference CP-0000786.
- Supports AED deposits through UAEPGS, the Central Bank of the UAE payment gateway.
- Swap-free trading is limited to ten indices; standard forex accounts are not swap-free.
- Typical spreads and commissions are not published for Classic, Elite, and Pro accounts.
- The exact entity a UAE retail client contracts with has not been verified.
Broker's Detail
ADSS trades in the UAE through ADS SECURITIES - L.L.C - S.P.C on CMA (formerly SCA) reference CP-0000786, also published as SCA-era 305027 (Cat 1); 20200000217 (Cat 5): a dealing permission, so the UAE-licensed entity can be your counterparty, with client assets endorsed.
Licence covers: Category 1, Trading broker of OTC derivatives and currencies (spot market)
3. AvaTrade: MT4 across desktop, web and mobile
AvaTrade opens new MT4 accounts and permits expert advisors and custom indicators. Desktop, web and mobile clients are available, though the MT4 symbol count is not published. Its FSP carries a condition referencing OTC derivatives offered to retail clients dated 6 February 2020. I would use it for indicator work. The licensed entity is Ava Trade Middle East Limited, regulated by FSRA (ADGM) FSP 190018.
Average spread
0.9 pips EUR/USD typical
no commission published
Trading platforms
MT4, MT5, own platform
Minimum deposit
USD 100
Regulation
FSRA (ADGM)
FSP 190018
Why higher here? Ava Trade Middle East Limited lists desktop, web and mobile clients alongside new MT4 accounts that allow expert advisors and custom indicators, placing it third on this page but 15th across all 35 reviewed brokers. See the ranking method ↓
Pros & Cons
- Platforms include MT4, MT5, proprietary WebTrader and AvaOptions.
- ADGM dealing licence held by Ava Trade Middle East Limited (FSP 190018).
- No commission on the single CFD offering.
- Broker-published leverage for gold, indices, commodities and shares exceeds FSRA retail caps.
- AED acceptance for deposits and withdrawals is not stated.
- Swap-free account terms contain three conflicting statements on charges after five days.
Broker's Detail
AvaTrade trades in the UAE through Ava Trade Middle East Limited on FSRA (ADGM) reference FSP 190018: a dealing permission, so the UAE-licensed entity can be your counterparty, with no client-asset endorsement.
Licence covers: Dealing in Investments as Principal (Matched); Arranging Deals in Investments
4. XTB: Expert advisors and custom indicators permitted
XTB MENA Limited opens new MT4 accounts with expert advisors and custom indicators permitted. Desktop, tablet and mobile clients are listed, but the MT4 symbol count is not published and no broker tools are named. A second UAE entity, XTB FINANCIAL SERVICES L.L.C, CP-0001283, also appears on the CMA register. The licensed entity is XTB MENA Limited, regulated by DFSA (DIFC) F006316.
All-in cost per lot
0.8 pips round turn
Standard account, no commission
Trading platforms
MT4, own platform
Minimum deposit
No minimum published
Regulation
DFSA (DIFC)
F006316
Why higher here? XTB MENA Limited opens new MT4 accounts with support for expert advisors and custom indicators, and it lists desktop, tablet and mobile clients, which puts it second on this page but eighth among all 35 reviews. See the ranking method ↓
Pros & Cons
- Zero minimum deposit on the standard account.
- No commission per lot on the standard account.
- Regulated by the DFSA in the DIFC under reference F006316.
- AED is not supported for deposits, withdrawals, or account currency.
- API access is not published.
- Swap-free account does not state Shari'ah certification.
Broker's Detail
XTB trades in the UAE through XTB MENA Limited on DFSA (DIFC) reference F006316: a dealing permission, so the UAE-licensed entity can be your counterparty, with client assets endorsed.
Licence covers: Dealing in Investments as Principal (Debentures, Futures, Options); Arranging Deals in Investments (Debentures, Futures, Options, Shares, Units)
5. Equiti: EA permission not stated
Equiti opens new MT4 accounts, but its pages do not state whether expert advisors or custom indicators are permitted. Desktop, web and mobile clients are available, and the MT4 symbol count is not published. I would need that EA disclosure before choosing it for automated trading. The licensed entity is Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC, regulated by CMA (formerly SCA) CP-0000791 (SCA-era 20200000026 (Cat 1); 20200000352 (Cat 5)).
All-in cost per lot
0.7 pips round turn
Premier account, 0.0 typical plus USD 3.50 per side
Trading platforms
MT4, MT5, own platform
Minimum deposit
USD 0 (Classic)
USD 3,000 (Premier)
Regulation
CMA (formerly SCA)
CP-0000791
Pros & Cons
- AED is accepted for account denomination, deposits and local bank transfers with no fees.
- The CMA licence permits the broker to deal as principal, providing direct counterparty execution.
- A Micro account offers MT5 and WebTrader access as an additional account alongside your main trading account.
- The broker publishes a maximum leverage of 500:1 on major forex pairs; the CMA does not set a numeric cap, so this figure is a commercial decision.
- Four versions of the swap-free terms are publicly accessible, creating uncertainty about the applicable equity or balance trigger.
- Classic and Standard accounts do not publish a typical or advertised EUR/USD spread.
Broker's Detail
Equiti trades in the UAE through Equiti Securities Currencies Brokers LLC on CMA (formerly SCA) reference CP-0000791, also published as SCA-era 20200000026 (Cat 1); 20200000352 (Cat 5): a dealing permission, so the UAE-licensed entity can be your counterparty, with client assets endorsed.
Licence covers: Category 1, Trading broker of OTC derivatives and currencies (spot market)
Watch: how we test and rank MT4 brokers on cost, execution and expert-advisor support.
Which brokers still open new MT4 accounts
ADSS, Equiti, IG, XTB and AvaTrade all still open new MetaTrader 4 accounts as at 18 August 2026, and none of the five restricts MT4 to existing clients only. That is the full MT4 list in this comparison. If you want a live MT4 account today, I would start with these five and check each broker’s current account page before you apply.
CFI and Century Financial have quietly dropped the platform. Both brokers’ old MetaTrader 4 page URLs now redirect to their MetaTrader 5 pages, and neither publishes a statement explaining the change. A broker should state its position clearly, not just redirect a URL. So the table records their status as not stated rather than as a migration.
eToro sits outside this question entirely: it never offered a third-party platform. Amana’s case is an entity mismatch rather than a missing feature, and the name needs disambiguating: the broker in this comparison, Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited, is unrelated to the Amana construction group and to the Labuan-regulated consumer app the group markets under the same name. MetaTrader 4 does exist on amana.app, that group app and its default account-opening path, but not on the DFSA-licensed broker’s own pages. The DFSA settled which entity it authorises on 20 January 2023, clarifying that Amana Financial Services (Dubai) Limited is the only Amana Capital Group entity it licenses, and that app accounts default instead to AFS Global Ltd, a Labuan-licensed entity. Nothing published by the DFSA entity offers MetaTrader 4, which is why the table above marks the row not published by the licensed entity rather than supported. The entity mismatch at Amana is the kind of thing you need to check before funding an account.
Opening an MT4 account today means opening one on a platform whose publisher stopped licensing new installations in January 2018. A broker can still run and support its own build, but the licence itself is closed to new entrants. I would focus on what each broker says about its own MT4 commitment, not on the platform’s general reputation. For the wider UAE-licensed broker field, see our guide to UAE-licensed forex brokers.
The spread is set by the broker, not the platform. The platform itself doesn’t affect your spread; the broker’s pricing model does. MT4 costs nothing on its own and decides nothing about what a trade costs. See our comparison of published spreads for the brokers in this set.
Custom indicators and expert advisors on MT4
Indicators and expert advisors for MetaTrader 4 are written in MQL4, a separate language from MQL5; code built for one will not run on the other. If you’re moving an EA from another broker, check that it’s written in MQL4, because MQL5 code won’t run. In the desktop terminal, the Navigator panel is where your installed indicators and expert advisors live, while Market Watch draws its symbol list from the broker’s own MT4 server build.

The Navigator panel is where your custom indicators and EAs (written in MQL4) appear, and Market Watch pulls its symbol list from the broker’s own MT4 server build.
ADSS, IG, XTB and AvaTrade state plainly that expert advisors are permitted on their MT4 build. Equiti’s UAE MT4 page is silent on the point, which is a documentation gap rather than evidence of a restriction. If you plan to run automated strategies, I would stick with the four brokers that are explicit about allowing EAs. Equiti’s silence is a gap you would want filled before opening an account for automated trading. The same four brokers are explicit about custom-indicator installation; Equiti again publishes nothing either way. IG is the only broker here that ships its own indicator and add-on set with the build, worth knowing if a broker-maintained package matters to you.
A demo account runs on the same MT4 build as a live one. Test any EA on a demo first, because the build is identical to the live environment. See the demo account comparison for which brokers offer one. Rules on running an expert advisor at all are covered separately: automated trading rules by broker.
Every UAE broker publishing MT4
The table below lists all 18 MT4 publishers across the full 35-broker roster, with regulator, whether Expert Advisors are stated and whether the broker also publishes MT5. ‘Not stated’ means the broker does not publish an answer, not that the answer is no.
| Broker | Regulator | Expert advisors | Also publishes MT5 | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADSS | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | ADSS on this page |
| AvaTrade | FSRA (ADGM) | Yes | Yes | AvaTrade on this page |
| Axi | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | Axi review |
| Capital.com | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | Capital.com review |
| Equiti | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | Equiti on this page |
| HYCM | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | HYCM review |
| IG | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | IG on this page |
| MultiBank | CMA (formerly SCA) | Not stated | Yes | MultiBank review |
| Noor Capital | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | Noor Capital review |
| Pepperstone | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | Pepperstone review |
| RoboMarkets | CMA (formerly SCA) | Not stated | Yes | RoboMarkets review |
| Swissquote | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | Swissquote review |
| ThinkMarkets | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Yes | ThinkMarkets review |
| Traders Hub | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | Traders Hub review |
| Traze | CMA (formerly SCA) | Yes | Yes | Traze review |
| Vantage | CMA (formerly SCA) | Not stated | Yes | Vantage review |
| XTB | DFSA (DIFC) | Yes | Not stated | XTB on this page |
Who publishes MetaTrader 4
MetaTrader 4 is published by MetaQuotes Software Corp, which stopped issuing new MT4 licences to brokers in January 2018 and provides no new MT4 servers. Existing licensees kept the platform and support, but the licence pool itself is closed. Each broker runs its own server build, so what you download is that broker’s version, not a generic install, and it includes that broker’s symbols and any bundled tools.
Licence references behind the table above
The regulator and licensed entity for each broker are already in the MT4 table. Behind those entries are the registration numbers we checked on 17 August 2026 for the CMA (formerly SCA) and on 18 August for the DFSA (DIFC) and FSRA (ADGM). Our team ran the CMA check, verified the DFSA and FSRA entries the next day. The numbers: ADSS CP-0000786 (SCA-era 305027 Cat 1, 20200000217 Cat 5); CFI CP-0000894 (SCA-era 20200000154); Century Financial CP-0000038 (SCA-era 20200000028, 301044); Equiti CP-0000791 (SCA-era 20200000026, 20200000352); Amana F003269; IG F001780; XTB F006316; AvaTrade FSP 190018; eToro FSP 220073.
XTB carries a second, CMA-registered company under the same brand, XTB Financial Services L.L.C (CP-0001283). F006316 above belongs to XTB MENA Limited, the DFSA entity this page’s row is built from. I would check which entity your account sits with, because a plain visit to xtb.com lands on the CMA entity’s branch by default.
MetaQuotes itself holds no UAE licence and answers to none of the three regulators. Platform choice and regulatory protection are separate questions: the numbers above govern the broker, not MetaTrader 4. That distinction is worth keeping in mind when you compare platforms.
MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 are compared on the trading platforms page. The differences between MT4 and MT5 are covered in more detail there. How these pages are researched is set out in the methodology.
FAQs
Can I still open a new MT4 account in the UAE?
Which UAE-licensed brokers do not offer MT4?
How many currency pairs are on a broker's MT4 server?
Is MetaTrader 4 regulated in the UAE?
Can I run expert advisors on MT4 with a UAE-licensed broker?
Related pages
About the author
Justin Grossbard co-founded CompareForexBrokers in 2014 and serves as Co-Founder and CEO. He has traded forex since 1998. For this site he directs the research and comparison of UAE-licensed brokers. He holds Monash University degrees including a Bachelor of Commerce with Honours and a Master of Marketing. His commentary has appeared in Forbes, Kiplinger, Finance Magnates and Entrepreneur.